Don’t we face enough f***in’ imponderables?

https://fullyreconditioned.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/al-swearengen.jpg?w=199&h=138That’s a question posed by Al Swearingen in Deadwood, one of my favorite TV shows of all time.

As a consumer of the local all-news station, I’m constantly amazed by the commercials they run. The vast majority seem to be one way or another to separate me from my money. Offers to represent me should I or a loved one have died from any number of calamities. (Calamity Jane was another Deadwood character.) Or if I’m having ED. Or, God forbid, cancer. Or if I want to take advantage of a home remodification program; if I do I have to act now because the offer won’t last forever, even though they’ve been running the same damn ad for years. And sorry, just because you’ve been advertising with the station for 15 years doesn’t mean you’re good, it just means you’ve been paying your bills.

Of course, most the them don’t actually promise results. Although how do the lawyers make any money if they only take payment if you win your case?

All this is a roundabout way for me to complain about job sites. I subscribe to several and today a posting came up for an interesting position so I clicked. That took me out of Job site A to job site B, where I had to go through a fairly rigorous process — adding my resume, stating my salary requirements, etc. A minimum salary I understand, but a maximum? Hey, pal, the sky’s the limit. Or, on the other hand, don’t you dare pay me a penny over $100,000.)

https://i2.wp.com/www.drloriv.com/Portals/0/Images/Topics/matroyska1.JPGOf course it’s only after I reach the final click that I’m informed I’m getting a special deal to have my resume posted to more than 35 job sites. Wait, what happened to the one job to which I wanted to apply??? This reminds me of Russian dolls: you go through smaller and smaller models until they just disappear.

These hucksters should be ashamed of themselves for taking advantage of desperate people who probably can’t afford these series of never-ending fees for services that probably won’t end up with the desired outcome: a real job.

Last night I attended a send-off for the managing editor of the paper from which I was recently terminated. This angel gave me the opportunity to work at the paper full-time after being out of work for almost two years. Now it was her turn to go, somewhat unwillingly, after 20 years of dedicated service. God help the paper now. It was on the slide after the bloodletting in September that saw most of the staff dismissed, only to be replaced by people already on staff of the Manhattan-based newspaper that bought us out. And to be blunt, IMO, they don’t seem to have a vested interest in putting out the same award-winning quality product. Maybe they’ll learn, but I doubt it.

In the meantime, I keep plugging away, hoping to find an “honest man” out there in employment land who is serious about hiring, and not just looking to pick up a few by by being a referral service.

https://i2.wp.com/www.sellyourcarforcash.com/images/refferal_large.png

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

