Fake news was bad enough, but fake jobs?

How cruel is this? I’m pasting a letter I received with the subject line “I tried to call you” (which in and of itself). I have no qualms about identifying the sender — who deserves no quarter for preying on the hopes of someone looking for a job — just in case any of you out there receive a similar message.

Dear Ron Kaplan,

My name is Peter Rukis and my boss put your resume on my desk and asked me to reach out to you in regards to a few positons we have open in our new Colonial Life office here on 55 Broadway in New York, NY

Here is access to my available times for an interview http://tracking.maggioregion.com/tracking/click?msgid=PRYcb0UJXIpLVZGJ6KzPdQ2&target=http%3a%2f%2fwww.meetme.so%2fcolonial&v=z1cCHsJhptx6m-NYz64lQQ2

Due to recent changes in the market we have several positions open including entry level as well as management.

We are looking for people with past experience in account management, customer service, sales, and management.

Interviews will last about 45 minutes, and please show up about 15 minutes early.

A few times are available below, just click on the link and the time slot you are able to attend. You will be sent a confirmation email just check your inbox in case it hits the spam filter.

http://tracking.maggioregion.com/tracking/click?msgid=PRYcb0UJXIpLVZGJ6KzPdQ2&target=http%3a%2f%2fwww.meetme.so%2fcolonial&v=z1cCHsJhptx6m-NYz64lQQ2

Look forward to meeting you,

Peter N. Rukis
Territory Recruiter, Colonial
New York Metro Territory/ Northern N.J./ Long Island
Member of the Northeast Region

Office 212-328-8951
http://tracking.maggioregion.com/tracking/unsubscribe?msgid=PRYcb0UJXIpLVZGJ6KzPdQ2

https://i0.wp.com/www.littlepurplebarn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Thank-you-but-no-87060350871.jpegNow, I ain’t click on any of those links.

I don’t know how his boss would have put my resume on his desk since I don’t have any “past experience in account management, customer service, sales, and management.”

What they could have used was a proofreader.

So thanks a lot, Peter Rukis, but I’ll pass.

2 thoughts on “Fake news was bad enough, but fake jobs?

  1. Worried Journalist,

    I understand your concern as there are quite a few scams out there with similar wording and links. It would be greatly appreciated for me to give my input on this email. My name is Peter Rukis… yes the real Peter Rukis. Within my industry, Voluntary Benefits, we look to work with people from multiple industries and backgrounds. I’ve recently spoken to teachers, engineers and of course writers/editors.

    The great thing about our industry is that there is no hard requirement to starting in the business. What someone needs is people facing experience, a great attitude and the willingness to work hard (especially in the beginning of their career). This past month alone we had a few people hit their first bonus and it was great to see where they were before (unemployed figuring out the next steps) and where they are now. I know in my career I’ll face harsh criticism and doubt, but for every person that says “thank you for offering me this opportunity, it completely changed my career” the criticism is more than worth it.

    I’m sure you still have a pre-conceived notion about all of this. I hope the above text shows you that this is a real opportunity and hopefully it shed some light on everything. Now worried journalist, posting this comment requires my personal email. I hope that you take note of this email and reach out to me directly. If there is ANYTHING that I can do to help you in your career I’m happy to do it. Doesn’t have to be for my current company or my current opportunities. I want to show you that we are legit, I am here to help and I don’t want you to be a ‘worried journalist’ just a journalist 🙂

    Best Regards My Friend,

    Peter R.

    Like

Leave a Reply

