“Pen-manship” worries

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/22/56/19/22561926793208aff0b22b6579fd3ba9.jpgI love me a good fountain pen. My parents didn’t leave me much, but they did leave me a handful of these treasures, probably from the 1940s- 1950s. Sadly, several of them are no longer functional.

I have purchased a few on my own over the years, preferring the really old-fashioned kinds where you have to refill them from a bottle, rather than use a cartridge.

I bring this up on a whim, extrapolating that people who don’t read probably don’t write much either. If they do, I’m guessing it’s on a computer rather than by hand. And by hand, I mean with a pen. You all know what a pen is, right? Don’t want to assume. After all, these days most communiques come in the form or emails and text messages. Letter-writing is a lost form. I wonder if greetings cards are pretty much it. And how much writing is involved in that? You just add a “Dear _____” and “Love, me” and you’re done.

Allow me to school those of you who do not. The following comes from Almost-human.wikia.com, a site devoted to the short lived sci-fi TV program set in the “not-so-distant future.”

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/almost-human/images/e/ef/2014-04-13_033030_alhu_s1e8_pen.png/revision/latest/scale-to-width-down/185?cb=20140413073501A pen is a writing implement traditionally used to apply ink to a surface, usually paper, for writing or drawing.

In the Almost Human universe, writing with such objects has almost become obsolete. Instead, electronic technology such as computers, tablets, and electronic paper are favored…

Pens have been seen on desks in the Detective and Investigation unit of the Police Precinct, but it has not been confirmed if these are tablet pens or traditional pens.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

