Telephone worries

 

https://i1.wp.com/images.clipartpanda.com/ringing-clipart-4ibKGXrig.gifIt’s amazing how many time the phone rings during the day. Of course, you never notice it when you’re working, unless the caller leaves a message. After four rings, the message kicks in; the vast majority of the time, the caller doesn’t leave one (although I do have a feature which tells you the number that called even when they don’t).

Thanks to caller ID, I can see if I recognize the incoming number. If I don’t know you, I ain’t answering. Same goes for “private number” and unknown caller.”

That was then, this is now. Since I’m applying for jobs, I worry about not answering, fearful that this might be some prospective employer who will just move on to the next candidate. So far, that has not been the case.

A new racket is the delayed response. That’s when you pick up the phone and say hello. Then it takes a few seconds until the caller actually comes on the line. Some greet me by name, acting like I should know them, then they go into their spiel. So the trick is, if they don’t answer right away, I’m gone. Don’t waste my time, man. My wife says I should give them my cell phone number, but then I’ll get crank calls there. No, thanks.

https://i1.wp.com/www.clipartkid.com/images/587/there-is-51-business-telephone-ringing-free-cliparts-all-used-for-fws5ha-clipart.jpg

Leave a Reply

