“Social” worries

As in social media.

I belong to a number of journalism boards across numerous networking platforms. From time to time I get announcements/updates on what my colleagues are up to. I usually scan-and-skim, but one caught my eye.

https://i1.wp.com/s2.quickmeme.com/img/76/7673ee5c771066507cb8075c1cca8118d8015d6f5a87c4064ab6a0df09677fc7.jpgThis one came from an author who posted, “I am wondering why I am not congratulated for my biography…”???

(Actually I believe she meant “autobiography,”I went to check out the thread on the site, but it had been removed. I wonder why?)

I further investigated the author and found him/her to be — how should I put — overly dramatic. Now I don’t know this person. Maybe there’s a great deal of drama in their life. The stories are dire and very personal and a combination and extremely sad and angry. And I could relate, but just to a small degree.

https://cdn.woorkup.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/facebook.jpgAdvanced reader copies for my forthcoming book, Hank Greenberg in 1938: Hatred and Home Runs in the Shadow of War, are being sent out for possible blurbs and I heard from a couple of the recipients. Nice things, to be sure. But when I shared one of their posts on Facebook, I must admit, I was disappointed by the lack of response. Now, I don’t have the 10,000 contacts the the person above claim, but I still thought it would garner a bit more attention. I’ll just chalk it up to the holiday weekend and move on.

The lesson is: if you’re looking for affirmation, social media is the wrong place. I have never met or actually spoken to the majority of my FB friends and Twitter followers. It’s nice to be praised, sure, but don’t sweat the small stuff.

Leave a Reply

